Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum identifies what all young people should learn as they progress through school, and is the foundation for high quality teaching to meet the needs of all Australian students. It is the foundation for their future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community. It sets out essential knowledge, understanding, skills and capabilities and provides a national standard for student achievement in core learning areas.

Core Learning

The Australian Curriculum includes English, Mathematics, Science and History. In addition to these four learning areas, schools still have the flexibility to offer a range of other subjects. This allows schools to tailor educational programs to the needs of individual classes and each school community.

General Capabilities

Within all subjects, there is a focus on developing seven General capabilities of students.

The capabilities encompass the skills, behaviours and dispositions that students need to develop and apply to content knowledge. They help young people become successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens.

The seven general capabilities are:

Cross-curriculum Priorities

Incorporated within each of the four key subjects and the seven General capabilities, are the three cross-curriculum priorities.

Students learn about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and culture, Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia, and Sustainability.

Find Out More

Visit The Australian Curriculum